Diesel Place banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm kind of new to this but im gonna give it a shot. I'm a plumbing contractor and am looking to buy a new truck. I currently have a 95 7.2L Power stroke diesel crew cab with 250k miles on it. I was wondering if someone could give me an honest opinion about the new 6.0L power stroke diesel and the Chevy Duramax. I am on the rocks between these 2 and I left Dodge out of the picture because the back seat looked to small. If any of you out there have had the pleasure of driving both or know which is better. The aspects I am concerned about are: Overall room in the truck, Towing and Hauling Power, Reliability, and overall performance of the truck. By the way, I am planning on getting a manual transmission if that helps. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
12,262 Posts
First no one can say any truck is perfect in operation or for all the jobs desired or free from manufactures defects ..But GM seems to fit my bill ...

Seems that Ford is taking some serious hits with quality of the Diesel Power plant now offered ... The rest of the truck including tranny seems to be in good reputation ...But it does appear the bugs continue with some while others seem to escape the villains of defects ...

The GM had some early problems with the Duramax but no where the near the defects delivered to the consumer as Ford and has made gallant attempts to bring consumer confidence in on the purchase ... The Allison well,what can be said besides it is a premiere HD transmission ....

The only still lacking problem with the Duramaxes is fuel filtering as it would appear with the Bosch HPCR ... This is easily corrected for a couple hundred beans and a few hours of labor depending on kit you choose ...The LLY has a larger filter but IMO will deal with change intervals not quality ...

The Six speed trannys are used by both GM and Ford ...