Diesel Place banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am a rookie here but I thought maybe I could get a few opinions?
I am very happy with my 02' juiced with attitude and now want to lower my EGT's. I basically run on level 2 and drag a 10K LB. toy box up and down the grades of Arizona. I am able to keep the EGT's below 1250 F by monitoring it closely and adjusting gear and rpm. I refuse to let it go over 1250F. I would like to be well below and not have to worry about it.
I am looking at some of the exhaust systems on the market and thought I would ask for opinions.
1.Will a 4" MBRP w\front pipe reduce my EGT's significantly.
2.Would the Banks perform better?
3.Should I go for the 5"?
4.Does anyone know how large of spare I can stuff in with the 4" system?
I have a 315\75R-17 on an H2 wheel hanging under there now, Man I hate giving that up.
5.How about size of spare on the 5" system?
6.How effective is the muffler delete on the stock system at reducing EGT's?
Thanks in advance for your input.

·
Registered
679 Posts
I don't think 5" will get you any better results than a 4" system. Good luck keeping it below 1250°F. Mine would fly past that when it was stock. I pegged my 1500° Gauge pulling a trailer when it was stock. The only way to achieve those numbers and be able to use the hp is to change the windmill - or add one.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Get a boost stick!!!!!!!

·
Registered
66 Posts
I second the Boost Stick, after the exhuast. The cat delete will help alot. Between the cat, 4" and BS, I bet you'll drop 150deg, maybe more.

·
Registered
363 Posts
I haul through AZ with more weight than you. I have the same year - '02. I have a 4" exhaust, and it did help about 150 degrees. I have to watch mine like a hawk, though. I have a Kennedy system, but there are thers on the market.

·
Registered
1,380 Posts