Diesel Place banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The guy that just bought my 2001 GMC Duramax just put gas into the diesel fuel tank and drove it 3 blocks and noticed the truck smoking. He pulled over and had the truck towed to his house.

What can he do to solve the problem? Is it a job he can do?

Help

·
Registered
326 Posts
I'm no expert, but I would drain it and change the filters at the very least.

·
Registered
5,255 Posts
Ya... drain it, change the filter, refill it (1/4 tank), drain, refill again.
Run it for a short distance (just enough to flush the fuel system), then change the filter again.

If it runs fine without smoking, it's probably okay. May have damaged the injectors and IP pump, maybe not.

·
Registered
326 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I did a search and most of the guys are saying to just pull as much gas out as you can and fill the tank up with diesel and add some diesel fuel lube. Then drive it lightly.

I think there is a fuel primer lever some where in the engine area. Whouldnt that help by opening this and letting some of the gas out and fill the line with diesel. etc.....

thanks
sorry for being so short, the guy just did it an hour a go and needs the truck in the morning for work to haul some loads.

·
Registered
1,310 Posts
I did a search and most of the guys are saying to just pull as much gas out as you can and fill the tank up with diesel and add some diesel fuel lube. Then drive it lightly.

I think there is a fuel primer lever some where in the engine area. Whouldnt that help by opening this and letting some of the gas out and fill the line with diesel. etc.....

thanks
sorry for being so short, the guy just did it an hour a go and needs the truck in the morning for work to haul some loads.