Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
642 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, the purpose of this thread is so I dont litter the board with all my questions, progress updates, and so on. I am just going to update this thread as I go. Probadly it will sprawl out of control, but hey its worth a try.

Opening information. I am not a mechanic, but a hobbiest at best. I know how a engine works, and try to study what I am doing meticulously. When I think I have the basic's down, then I will ask a question to confirm If I'm right. I would Really appreciate if you experienced people would help out here, since I think when I am done, I'll do a whole writeup on how to do the turbo changeout with pictures. That will solve a whole lot of questions in the future I think.

Guipo

·
Registered
642 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
so I got the three important parts

Yup, I did. Intake Manifold in all its glory, exaust manifold, and the turbo. I dont need much else do I?

Yea, I was stuck in that dillusion once. But what I've found, is what looks simplistic often times has some very complicated oddities.

The first thing that I've found is the number 4 injector is too long. You can get a short injector or possibly build some type of spacer. I have no idea how big the spacer is going to need to be, or how i would even build one. So I think the idea's of injectors got very nice. So right now I'm finding out(still havent done it yet) where I get these injectors, model numbers etc. And I've actually concidered because of money contraints just getting that one injector. But I have a 85, and it would be the most benificial to get all the injectors. We'll have to see, maybe I'll get just the one, and replace the rest at a later time. I know what you guys are saying, but it will work, and it will work find. Maybe its not the most optimal setup, but I think it'll work.