Diesel Place banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been shopping around for a new truck for the last several months. Last weekend I made a 4 hour trip (car dolly in tow) to go look at a 96 6.5 Burb with 130k on the clock. I learned the hard way that even the best pictures can't give you an accurate perception of a vehicle's condition.

To make a long story short, the vehicle was in extremely rough condition so I left it there and drove home empty handed (empty dolly, that is). Then, to make matters worse, when I checked oil in my old burb the next day it was down 1 to 1.5 quarts. I don't know how much time an engine has when its eats that much oil in 600 miles, but I'm guessing it can't be much. Its a shame, since its running and pulling better than it ever has. An engine rebuild/replacement is out of the question. She's just not worth that much, being 13 years old and the paint is that crappy GM stuff of the mid-90s. However, I hope to find someone who already has an engine or rebulid parts waiting to go in.

So, now I have a F250 6.0 cc sb sitting in my driveway (notice I left the 4-letter 'F' word out of the description), 60k on the clock, $17,500 will buy it. My bro-in-law is selling it, and has allowed me to take it for the weekend. I've car faxed it and oasis'd it, and all looks good. So far, I'm in love. I'll put several hundred miles on it today and tomorrow before I make my final decision, though I'm afraid my mind is already made up. I think sometime next week, my old Burb will be sitting in front of my house with a for-sale sign in the window, and this truck will take its place in the garage.

·
Registered
1,626 Posts
:nono: well chap we will miss you on the 6.5 forum. :(

·
Registered
943 Posts
you can buy an awful lot of oil for 17,500

But best of luck with whatever you decide...

·
Registered
163 Posts