Diesel Place banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last week I took my 03' Dmax into the dealer for a possible injector/fuel pump hard starting issue. When I picked the truck up at the end of the day, the service tech told me he did every test possible, including tests with the tech ll, and he assured me it wasn't a fuel injector problem.

Yesterday, I had a chat w/ John from Kennedy Diesel, told him all the same info I'm relaying to you, and he said in his professional opinion, that he still thinks that it is an injector problem. He also told me that I should ask my dealer if they performed a fuel system return test. (I'm not a mechanic, so I have no idea on steps to perform such test, and I'm not so sure the tech at the dealer does as well.) So i asked the tech, and he said he did.

I'm taking the truck to the dealer tomorrow for this claimed fuel pump thingy. They told me that there needed to be a certain amount of pressure at this pump, and there's not. So they are going to replace.

I guess I got ahead of myself, Here's the problem. Some days truck starts great(1-3 seconds of crank) sometimes starts hard(15-45 seconds of crank). Have nicktane filter kit, add additive every tank. Also change factory fuel filter every other oil change. When truck finally starts, the truck goes like hell.

Maybe you have some Ideas on this issue. If it is an injector issue, how do you go about telling the dealer that their tech is stupid. And how do I stop them from shotgunning parts every other week and still the problem remains? If everyone that I talk to knows and thinks that it is an injector issue, but the dealer tells me it's not, who do I believe?

Maybe you can give me advice on this subject. And if problem still remains after tomorrow, maybe you can get me some info on how calmly put some well needed pressure on dealer.

·
Registered
11,646 Posts