Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Diesel p/u world, and have been reading about aftermarket fuel filters and fuel heaters such as the Racor unit. While I understand the benefit of additional filtration, is the heater really needed? Do people running the stock setup have problems in Cold weather climates??

Thank You!Edited by: sammy

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
I think the only time you would have any trouble would be if you had it mounted on the frame where its more exposed and you lived in a real cold area, what happens is the water that gets trapped in the filter would freeze, there for stopping the flow of fuel, I know if I lived anywhere that seen harsh winters I would go with the one with the heater.

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
IMHO, Keystonekid is right.

But since I bought the "Official" Racor kit and it's frame mounted, I figured that even if it only saved you once it would be worth it. It does occasionally get really cold around here, and the stations usually do some adds to the fuel for cold weather, based on what the temps normally run. But my bigger concern would be if I happen to head North during the winter. One of the members in Wyoming had problems with his set up getting too cold and he said it was a gel problem, but H20 would definitely aggravate that possibility.

If you get the Racor kit itself, it only comes with the heater and WIF, if you get the Racor stuff that Landyut puts out, you have the option of getting whatever you want. It's also less money from him, but I got the Racor since word is that it's GM approved (there's not been any confirmation on that) and my Service Manager is kind of a butt head. I didn't want to give him any excuse to cause problems for me, so I showed him the Racor bulletin and the kit when it came in and he said it looked like a good idea.

Gee, I'm so glad he approves......