Diesel Place banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
But not OUR tires. These are load range D. Let's hope they recall ours too.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Not for premature wear?
Mine were tossed away at 6,000 miles.

·
Registered
772 Posts
Oh, but for a change in one tiny number....

TC

·
Registered
795 Posts
hm........sorta coincides with my experience with the original Firestone tires on my 02 EC HD. I had a blowout last fall at 27,000 miles. Sidewall blew apart.

I will never have a Firestone tire again

·
Registered
958 Posts
I've been running the Steeltex A/T's for about 4 or 5 months now on my cargo van and previously thought they performed well in the rain/snow and wore like iron.. Well, not so anymore. My fronts are lasting great but the rears are wearing excessively fast, the drive tire is almost at the wear bar already (about 60,000km's or 40,000 miles) and the drivers side rear is not far behind it. The fronts are only about half worn.. I should have rotated them long ago but wasn't keeping an eye on them and didn't expect the drive tire to wear this fast. It's all highway miles with not much stop and go, and I'm not a lead foot by any means. They've also began to completely suck on wet roads for the past month or so, and while they handled well in snow the drive tire got next to no bite whatsoever.

OTOH I've had no blowouts despite hitting more than a few HUGE potholes at 60+mph, the kind that make you expect to have a bent rim, flat tire or trashed suspension/steering pieces.

POS's, my Michelins were still over 2/3 tread left at this point. I can't wait to take them off and put some Michelins on again.

·
Registered
227 Posts
You'll be ok. Firestones on a GM won't cause problems. But on a Ferd they call them Gravestones!

·
Registered
192 Posts
Most of these tire problems are from people not having enough AIR in them. These big tires need a minimum of 45PSI in them.