Diesel Place banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
6/1991 V2500 Suburban 6.2L 4L80e large aftermarket oil and trans. coolers, Banks Kit (worth every penny) 135K miles

First a preface... I've been an auto mechanic for over 32 years so I have a clue...

OEM fan clutch had leaked out all of the oil by the time I bought this 'Burb. I replaced it with a Murray HD clutch because it was available local and anything was better than the dead one I took off. Every day driving is fine, temp comes up a bit on long hills on asphalt. Where the problem shows it's ugly head is on Poor Mountain Road, Poor Mtn. Rd. goes up the side of Poor Mtn. (imagine that...), starts out around 1k ft. elevation and ends up at the transmitter site at about 3.9k ft. Best guess is about four miles of dirt road. The first time I did that climb this spring it was about 50°F and by the time I made the top the temp. gauge read about 210°F, which I thought was unusual, but not dangerous. I did that pull again about a week ago with the ambient temp. closer to 90°F and the gauge got up to about 235°F. The coolant wasn't quite boiling, but I could tell it was close. I let it sit and idle for half an hour with the hood up, the temp. was down to under 210°F within ten minutes, and after half an hour there wasn't even any pressure on the system. None of this sounds too terrible, but I was running with the 'Burb mostly empty. I intend to tow with this thing, and it'll be loaded down pretty heavy.

Any recommendations? I've read that the Delco fan clutches aren't what they used to be... I really don't want to convert to electric fans, but I will if I have to...

·
Administrator
16,315 Posts
Clean your cooling stack

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Clean your cooling stack
Huh? Brand new coolers, brand new radiator, fan clutch isn't engaging and not pulling enough air at low speed / high load conditions... thought I made that clear.

·
Registered
2,659 Posts

·