Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I've read all of the post about not running the extreme program unless you have upgraded the tranny, but I wanted to see how much of difference it was from performance. So I did and I like the extreme level and I am getting better mialage. I am having a hard time seing how it would waist the tranny with my driving style. I am not in the throttle very hard most of the time and when I am the truck de-fuels before it shifts. Is there anyone out there that has waisted a tranny that drives normal under normal conditions or is it all of the guys that are hammering there trucks because they have so much power?

Thanks

·
Registered
167 Posts
i am not an expert but i would say if you are not doing a lot of full throttle shifting and power braking and towing and racing it should last. but if you beat on it it is going to fry your tranny. i limpt mine on the 95 horse setting on the power pup.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When I tow I drop it back down to tow/economy and have had no problems. I thinks that some of these guys are beating up on there trucks and using them to race mustangs at the stop light. I beleive that if you are going to use a truck like that your tranny is going to go either way.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Running that high in the upper gears? I don't follow you , running what high?

·
Registered
2,473 Posts
That high of power in the upper gears will kill the tranny. Do a search theres a couple threads. The changing between 5 and 6 heats up the C3 pretty good and cooks them. Some people have even fried them with stock hp

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
What did your tranny upgrade entale?

·
Registered
2,473 Posts
Oops miss type its being done in may but i am doing

Transgo
SC3 clutches
ATS pump kit
Triple disk converter
And misc little mods to create more holding power.

Should be good to hold over 500RWHP