Diesel Place banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'll post it over here also.

Really need an answer to the "warranty" issue.

Since buying my '02 D/A Silverado, and the 13,000lb 5th wheel trailer, I have considered installing an "exhaust brake". I currently have 26,000 miles on the beast and have not had any serious "downhill" incidents. It's a pulling machine.

I am a somewhat conservative owner. Nothing special done to the engine, other that a "swiss cheese" job on an air box.

My concerns are which is the best of the bunch, and more importantly what happens to my warranty. I'm a California resident and therefore have the CARB to deal with.

Also, what experience has anyone had with warranty issues. On the "other" board one of the members appears to be a Master Mechanic for the general. It would be nice to hear from someone that is close to the fire.

I appreciate your input.

·
Registered
11,646 Posts
kb, first of all, most issues with aftermarket adds with vary from dealer to dealer. I know that there are a couple of different kits out there to get a brake from. Choose a product, then share the info with the service manager and let him know your plans and ask him his input. Not that you care what it it, but get him involved on the front side and avoid bringing it up after the fact, then no suprises. Choose a reputable installer if your not doing it yourself, the better the install, the less likely you will have trouble down the road. As a dealer tech, I notice aftermarket adds on a daily basis on all types of vehicles, the ones that get your attention are the ones that are hastily installed and will raise the most suspicion. A good install is one that you hardly know its not factory. As far as CARB is concerned, check with the manufacturer of the brake and see if it has been approved for CARB standards.