Diesel Place banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read with interest several threads where some owners are running exaust gas temps of 1300 to 1400 degrees.
I'm "old school":) and was taught to never exceed 1000 degrees as measured by a pyrometer pre turbo.
Are these new engines designed to run the higher temps? or Are the owners flirting with serious damage?

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
First, I AM NOT an expert, but 12-1300 seems totally acceptable these days based on what I've read. The guys with the exceptionally hot tunes are running considerably higher for short bursts according to things I've read here. I'm sure others will chime in shortly. :)

·
Registered
12,262 Posts
That's cool

I've seen mine come around to 6:30/7 o'clock,that's hot!

The Duramax "sustained" egt's at 1300 during initial endurance testing.I would say 1200 is about where you want to stay if and at all possible besides spikes.

·
Registered
54 Posts
My '05 with the thermo couple right at the manifold/down pipe connection will pull 1050* if I "stand" on it in a hard pull. Is this good or bad?

·
Registered
212 Posts
I got into this discussion on a different forum ..... I would like to get the feelings from some of the guys here.

I have a 2005 LLY and can/have hit 1400+ with the truck completely stock. I have read and heard of others who have experienced temps near 1500* with a completely stock truck.

Here is my question .... if it is possible to see these types of EGT's with a completely stock truck and GM provides us with no written guidelines with regards to temps and no gauge to even monitor the temps .... how can 14-1500 be to hot?

If a bone stock truck was capable of producing egt temps, while pulling within the mfg recommendations on DOT approved roadways, that are considered harmful why didnt GM install some sort of preventative system or at least install a gauge and tell us what is to hot?