Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got around to installing EGT & Boost guages but I'm new to how to use them.

I did the aka hoot location for EGT. Is there a recomended safe range for egt's? What is the max burst temp? How long can you prudently maintain the burst? What is the max high temp for a longer duration?

What is the best action you can take to lower egt's quickly?

What is a typical idle temp?

What is the thinking on how to best use the boost readings? How does boost and egt's relate to each other if at all? What actions do you take based on boost info if any?

Thanks!

2DAMAX

·
Registered
704 Posts
DMAX2DAMAX said:
Is there a recomended safe range for egt's? What is the max burst temp? How long can you prudently maintain the burst? What is the max high temp for a longer duration?

What is the thinking on how to best use the boost readings? How does boost and egt's relate to each other if at all? What actions do you take based on boost info if any?

The EGTs that I see are as follows:

300 at idle

600 at cruise

900 at cruise towing

I like to keep any long term EGT at 1200 or lower. I never see these numbers unless I'm geting into it, or towing a steep hill. I try to keep the short term EGT under 1500. I believe that these numbers are on the conservative side.

The best thing I did to lower EGT was the exhaust. During driving, the only way I've lowered EGT was to back off the throttle.

The boost guage is much more responsive than the EGT guage, and I think it more accuratly represents the motors load. I use it during light throttle to help improve milage, and during full throttle to compare tunes.

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
Idle Temp: Usually runs 300 to 340 degrees.

Max Temp 1800 degrees plus on 1/4 mile blasts, no more than 10 to 15 seconds.