Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can't answer that, but what I can do is tell you about my day. I am driving a 2005 2500HD Duramax/Allison. It has a cold air intake, a 40hp Predator, no kitty, and an aftermarket muffler. I run synthetic oil. I have owned 7 D/A's and this is the first one with an EGT gauge. For those of you that don't know me I deliver trailers for a living. OK, back to today.

The load is 13.5 feet tall and 8.5 feet wide. Gross weight is around 26,000 pounds. I am on 70 in New Mexico, westbound just east of White Sands. It is a gradual climb that goes on for miles, and gets steeper at the end. I noticed my EGT at 4:45 PM. It was 1425*. I do not know how long it had been that hot. The elevation was 3986 feet and the OAT was 75*. Being the DP's Inspector Gadget, I decided to investigate. I put the pedal on the floor. I normally drive like that anyway! ):h The climb to the top took 23 minutes. I arrived at just under 5500 feet and to 58* oat. My ECT was approximate 240*. My EGT was never below 1400* and at one time was 1550*. I saw no problems after the climb. I also have a 2004 with 210,000 miles that has seen this kind of usage since new.

Do I recommend this? NO, but maybe with the oil cooling on the bottom of the piston's that these motors have the EGT can safely run Hotter. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
3,464 Posts
i believe it is the heating and cooling that wears parts prematurely.

this was meant to be a post, right? not a thread?

·
Registered
5,130 Posts
What Rick is getting at is the old "standard" said that EGT's should not go over 1250* or 1300* to avoid engine damage, but that the new diesels seem to operate at 1400* or more from the factory without crapping out.

So what is the actual EGT limit?

·
Registered
3,464 Posts
what's the difference between immediate failure due to EGT and serious integrity damage of associated parts?