Diesel Place banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Can someone tell me what the 'advantages' are of blocking the EGR valve?

I'm fairly new to diesels so any information would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

Pete.:)

·
Registered
6,361 Posts
To give you a short answer to your question, it keeps the exhaust soot from going into your intake. You can do a search for a more intensive answer.

·
Registered
393 Posts
So does a '07 LBZ need the finger stick to avoid a CEL?

·
Registered
395 Posts
Yes, 06 and 07 Classic LBZ's will throw codes and a CEL w/o the Finger Stick

·
Registered
404 Posts
FireMedicJO;1585795; said:
Yes, 06 and 07 Classic LBZ's will throw codes and a CEL w/o the Finger Stick
How is the finger stick connected? Also, what happens if I just remove the fuse for the EGR?

·
Registered
395 Posts
ron54;1585872; said:
How is the finger stick connected? Also, what happens if I just remove the fuse for the EGR?
1. The FS is wired in and stored inthe raceway on top of the engine. It connects using the EGR position wire, MAF ground, power, and output wires.

2. DTC's and CEL's with removing the EGR wiring connector. I am pretty sure you will get the same result with removing the fuse as well.

If the FS is not your gig, EFI Live can completely disable the EGR function through the ECM tables.

Check this thread for BP & FS info:
http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=100287

Or visit www.kennedydiesel.com and view his installation instructions, emissions notes, and tech bulletins.

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)

·
Registered
395 Posts
The Blocker and Finger stick package can be bought for $50.00 from Kennedy's web site.

·
Registered
6,361 Posts
PFlorenzano;1587875; said:
This is excellent information, thank you!