Diesel Place banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is the latest and greatest, I have a 2003 crew cab shortbed, Duramax-Allison. I am running a 4.73 Edge Juice with Attitude monitor, AFE intake, 4 inch exhaust with an Aeroturbine diesel muffler,305/70/16 Goodyears. The performance is incredible. My truck hits second gear and howls the tires, first gear goes up in smoke. The truck pulls hard from idle all the way to top speed. The 1/4 mile performance test on #5 setting, 125hp, is alot of fun at the track. My best time to date is 14.8 at 93 mph. I have an oppotunity to upgrade the Edge box to "hot",150hp max power according to Matt at Edge. My concern is limping the tranny, any one with experience or comments, please reply. Also I was wondering how long a stock Allison will hold up being chipped or any other wear problems I may be likely to see.

Also, I am a fleet manager at a GMC dealer in southern Utah. I sell GMC trucks for less! Let me know if anyone needs a Duramax or other GMC, Pontiac,Olds or Buick! I can arrange transport if nessesary.

thanks, RobertW

·
Whipper Snapper
4,490 Posts
I don't think the 150hp will limp your tranny, but I haven't been able to get my hands on one yet to say with certainty. I have a 125hp juice stacked with a 110hp program and it only limped my tranny two times the first day I had the stack. After that, I think the tranny "learned" the new power was there and acts differently now. I have not limped it since and I do a lot of 0-97mph runs, full throttle.