Diesel Place banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
These forums post a lot of great information. I'm new to diesel engines and as I have a new Silverado 3500HD D/A on order, I was wondering if there was any sort of a guide/maintenance manual out there for Duramax engines. I did a relatively quick search on the net and didn't find anything, but I thought if one exists, someone viewing this forum should know about it.

In essence, I'm looking for a single source for all relevant subjects on owning/maintaining a Duramax. I've found the topics on this forum very informative, but it would be nice to have an A-Z guide with the comon non-certified diesel technician in mind. Too much to ask for?

·
Registered
432 Posts
I think there is a set of 3 books that covers it all. Will search and see if I can find it, been a while since someone asked for the tech manuals.

·
Registered
570 Posts
Chevysrus,

That would be great since I'm interested as well.

·
Banned
2,067 Posts
There should be a Duramax Diesel Supplement that comes with your truck. It is just a small book the covers the very basics, never the less usefull. My truck did not have one and I had to order it, helminc.com. My dealer did reimburse me(10.00).

·
Registered
432 Posts
OK finally found the Helms source. Go to Helminc.com. and you can order a set for any vehicle you own. They are pricy, but you are suppose to be able to take it apart and put it back together again with just these manuals.

Not sure how detailed you wanted to go and the Diesel Supplement you should have received with your truck covers routine maintenance items, but doesn't get into anything heavy.

Understand that threre is another source of manuals that comes on CD's and work great, but need to find that source as well.

Check it out and see if it's more than you ever wanted to know.

Good Luck

Edited by: Chevysrus

·
Registered
432 Posts
Hold on the link is not working....be back in a minute.