Diesel Place banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the diesel tuning thing although I've been around the gasser tuning area for a while (strictly as an amateur). Started in to Hot Rodding when things still had carburetors.

Lots of general theory about the way a gas engine is supposed to run - stoich or slightly lean at cruise, best power AFR, best timing, etc.

Anyway, when things really started to heat up in the computer based tuning arena, there were lots of post popping up about how to best tune an injected gas engine with the new tools and the tables the factory had provided.

Well, haven't really seen the same thing yet in the diesel arena, was thinking maybe it's time to get something like that going.

I was looking over the +60hp tune from the repository and comparing it to the stock tune for LLY's (haven't been able to download my LBZ stock tune yet).

Looks like there are three boost level tables - A,B, and C ? Is that right ? And each one is progressively higher than the previous one by about 1.7 psi ? Seems like a pretty small difference between the tables ?

Also, seems like there is a seperate table for each level with egr on and egr off ?

Ok, why three tables, why so close to each other, and why the egr on and off versions of each ?

And what is mm3 per stroke ?

These at least seem somewhat intuitive, but then we come to vane position. WTF ? This is totally new. You can control boost and vane position seperately ? What is the optimum ? What are we shooting for ?

Then there is injection pulse, and timing. Ok, so injection pulse timing controls the fuel going in, but how do you know when you have enough, or too much ? And what is the optimum timing for different conditions (at least theoretically ?)

And then of course, there is fuel pressure.

Very interested in learning, just not sure where to start.

Any advice ?

·
Registered
231 Posts