Diesel Place banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like the subject line states, what's the difference and which is recommended for my truck?

2013 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax, deleted but I use the lowest tune settings.

·
Administrator
18,021 Posts
Like the subject line states, what's the difference and which is recommended for my truck?

2013 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax, deleted but I use the lowest tune settings.
Your LML Duramax will have the CP4 pump
LB7-LMM Duramax is equipped with the CP3 pump

·
Registered
119 Posts
I'm no expert. But there is an excellent YouTube video where a shop takes each apart and explains the difference. Basically whe a cp3 quits working it just quits without exploding. It's typically a slow decline.

The cp4 on the other hand doesn't have a pinned piston and if it rotates slightly it tends to explode and send tiny bits of metal all through your fuel system. That includes rail lines, injectors, return lines and finally your tank. Sometimes it just rotates enough out of alignment to send metal to the injectors and shuts down before it goes POW. I remember seeing a picture of one in two pieces after it went.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Mikey52 - Do you remember the address to that video?

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
With the potential catastrophic failure of the CP4 (the "successor" to the CP3?!?!) some have removed their CP4 and replaced it with the CP3. I don't know what all is involved, but there must be a number of DIY descriptions and maybe videos. Since I have an LLY with the CP3, I haven't studied the CP4 issue that closely.