Diesel Place banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to this forum and this is my first post. We just bought a 2004 Chevy Silverado 2500HD, 4wd, CC, LB with the Duramax/Allison. I have read the pros and cons of adding chips, secondary fuel filters and additional gauges. Both the "keep it stock" and "you need to add this equipment" folks make good points for their positions. I am a non mechanic who doe not want to be a mechanic. We bought this vehicle to tow our current TT which is 25' long and weights less than 5,000 lbs and to be able to tow up to a 33' long, 10,000 lb. TT in the future. We plan to keep this truck 15 years and will probably not put more than 10,000 or so miles on it per year.

My preference would be to leave the truck stock and increase the frequency of maintenance versus adding a seconday fuel filtering system, gauges and chip. I am have a hard time trying to decide which way to go. Is this additional equipment really necessory for performance and longivity?

Any and all comments, suggestions and recommendations will be appreciated.

·
Registered
2,989 Posts
IMHO, I think the Secondary filter is a good insurance, the rest is all about toys (nothing wrong with them, just not needed)

·
Registered
687 Posts
Welcome to the land of confusion. Congratulations on your new truck as well.