Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
371 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this has been asked before but I can't find it:ro) I am contemplating turning in my 04.5 2500HD D/A for a Dulley. What I want to know is How much can I weigh going down the road with my 28' tri-axel gooseneck rated at 21000 gross. :confused: The book says combined 23500. I see some guys on here saying they are doing 30000 gross:eek:
Thanks for the input

Cosgro:D ve

·
Registered
27 Posts
I've been towing my Teton 5er for 5+ years weighing 30k combined. Initially pulled with '00 F-350 SRW but less than 1k miles/year. In '02 started full-time RVing and traded it for a '03 GMC 3500 dually and a year ago it for a '05 Chevy dually. IMHO it's a good setup if you don't mind streching the envelope. I'm limited to only one vehicle as a full-timer and MDT just don't seem to fit my needs to well.

Hope this helps

·
Registered
355 Posts
do you want to know the legal end of it?, or what you can stretch it to? as for the legal end I tagged mine for 26,000 because anything more then you have to keep up with the fuel & pay the IRS every 1/4. my 30' triaxle equipment trailer should be here in about 1-2 more weeks. & this combo unit will be put to work. truck weight 7380#'s trailer weight 7100#'s with chains, binders, winch, & other BS. that gives me a capacity of real close to 11,520#'s, unless I can bypass the scales then it will be over loaded to up to 30,000#'s.

·
Registered
175 Posts
My Alfa 5'ver's GVWR is 17,999. I usually tip the scales at just all the limits when I'm coming back from vacation. That's with a little water in each of the tanks. I suppose I'm over the limits some of the time, but not often or by much.

·
Registered
1,416 Posts