Diesel Place banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have been having this issue for about a year now, thought it was batteries so I bought 2 new AC Delco batteries rated for my truck last year. All was good for a while and then started acting up again, took the truck to a GM dealer and after diagnostic they said it was the starter, so they replaced it about a month ago. Out shopping a couple of days ago the same thing happened, click but no start, got a boost and it started, went to the garage and had the batteries tested and all is good. I have checked the cables including the junction box on the fire wall and all seem fine (no corrosion). I have tested the alternator with my volt meter(14.6 volts when running). Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.Ed

·
Registered
35 Posts
Have you checked the grounds? While I am new to the LMM world why past experiences always seem to point to a bad ground in these cases. Seems you should have a ground from each battery to the block.

·
Premium Member
17,847 Posts
I seem to recall a rash of poorly crimped battery cables on the '07.5s and '08s. Thorough inspection of where the cables are crimped into the battery lugs is in order.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I still haven't found "smoking gun" but my suspicion is because my commute to work is 10 minutes, living in a cold climate, and not using my truck on the weekend the batteries don't get fully charged. I changed the alternator to a higher output one(160 amp) and so far so good.
Thank you to every ones input on this issue.

·
Registered
1,165 Posts