Diesel Place banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,903 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just bought a cobra cb, looking for good info for an antenna,coax,mic,etc.
Thinking of a Wilson 1000 or Wilson 2000 w/ magnetic mount. Road King mic, and a better quality coax.
Would like to know everyone's opinions, I've searched here and other sites and even talked to a few truckers. "Wilson" is what I'm hearing about. I know I have heard a lot about Firestick here, just wanna buy something good the first time.(second time) I bought some cheap crap at a conv. store to get me by. :eek::
Thanks

·
Registered
351 Posts
As a trucker myself I have a Cobra 29 LTD Classic Dale Earnhardt Edition that has a connex board and tuned and peaked. I run a Wilson 2000 short shaft with a Road King 56 mic. I like the Wilson because they are a steel whip. The Firesticks are OK but to rigid for my application. I deliver and set up panalized homes for Wausau Homes and I am in the woods alot. If your gonna run a single ant., get 18 ft of coax with sealed connectors(not crimped)for best perfomance.

·
Registered
3,343 Posts
If you're not running it in a big rig, just run dual Firesticks and you'll get great reception and output. I have what used to be an 8' Wilson that wa given to me and I love it but, it's too tall, at least whats left of it:eek: .
I am going to dual firesticks and have heard nothing but good things about them. Just beware of the look-a-likes that claim the same gain.

Mark

·
Registered
204 Posts
I have dual firestik 2's and i love em. They're 3' long and fiberglass construction. East screw-type length adjustment. I have them too close to be a quarter wave apart like they should be, but i had no trouble getting a 1.2 swr and get great reception. Hopefully i can get some pics of my install up here, i just gotta get some time cuz it's snowing here and my plow's yelling at me!

-mike

·
Registered
3,903 Posts
Discussion Starter #5