Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks - I'm coming up to my first oil change. what have you folks found to be the best brand of oil that meet the specs? second question: What about this amsoil? is it better than standard oil and worth the extra cost?
Thanx much

·
Registered
103 Posts
Oil:

I've been using Amsoil since 1976, best thing since sliced bread. Or put another way you can't go wrong using Amsoil.

Ken

·
Registered
935 Posts
oil

Amsoil has the abuility to do the job but so does darn near every other quality diesel oil on the market.

·
Registered
976 Posts
How many miles on your truck? Most all of us here recommend hitting at least 10K before going to any kind of synthetic. For standard dino oil I would use Mobil Delvac 1300 Super, Delvac MX or Shell Rotella T. Not recommed Citgo (for obvious reasons).

When you go synthetic, I would use Mobil Delvac 1, Hydrotex and Amsoil as a 3rd choice. When you ask about fluids on this forum you will get a ton of responses.

·
Premium Member
1,462 Posts
Hey petlin,how dirty does your oil look?I have only a 1100 miles on my new LBZ and the oil looks a lot darker than my LB7 would at those miles.Any oil that meets the specs in your owners manual should be just fine.Try to get an oil that is readily available to you,you should not have to go out of your way to find oil.I work for a large company that has around 200 pieces of heavy equipment(caterpillar),every oil change gets a sample sent in.They have been using Mobil Delvac 1300S for many years.

·
Registered
1,774 Posts
I have ran Rotella T in every truck I have had and have no issues. Now with that being said I am going to switch to Amsoil and a bypass filter and go extended drain intervals. I am just getting tired of doing oil changes almost every two weeks (I change per the dic or close to it when I am home) and then having to dispose of the waste oil.

·
Registered
300 Posts