Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, Can anyone tell me where the cabin filters are located inside the cabin? I am new to these cabin filters and curious as to how often to change and where located inside the cabin. Please help.

·
Registered
217 Posts
01Duramax,

I believe they are in the blower assembly under the glove compartment. Here is a picture....

I believe I remember some saying not to remove all the screws to the bottom cover of the HVAC module or it is a real PITA to get it back in...

Anyone out there with first hand experience? Mine is an 03 so I have not had the opportunity to try first hand.

John

·
Registered
211 Posts
There is a cover with 3 screws. The one that is a PITA is located above the trans hump. It is not near as bad if you don't have a center console. Remove the cover. There is one screw holding the part marked #1 in the above post. The part is just under the center of the glove compartment. Remove the screw in it will hinge down. Pull the filter down. Now the tricky part, there is a second filter in there. Look to the front of where the first one is located. Slide it back and pull down. You can see how everything goes back in. I bet there are quite a few trucks running around with out the difficult screw if the filters have been replaced.

CS-Dmax. I don't think you will find filters in yours. I know the 03s with dual control do not have them. I haven't looked on one without dual controls.

·
Registered
6,504 Posts
Yep, that's a good illustration, but you have to remove the black plastic shroud covering the access panel, and that's were you get *screwed* by the design!
Do not completely remove the innermost screw (towards the center console) on the black shroud or you will wind up unable to replace it!