Diesel Place banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
2006 Sierra 2500HD

If you had to do it over, which option?

Pre-cut/bent SS kit ($155) or Precut Nicopp kit ($90)

Its not so much the cost. The question is related to routing the lines and getting them in the truck. I don't have a lift.

Don't offer up buy roll of tube and craft it myself. Not going there.

·
Registered
4,441 Posts
I got the prebent nylon coated steel lines from GM a few years ago, and happy with how they went in. There's a lot of jiggling and figuring out how you want to get them in so they follow the right path around everything else in the truck.

The only disappoint for me was that the kit didn't include the two lines across the rear axle.

I have no experience with your other kind.

Some tips for doing the job:
-take note of which line goes where in the abs box under the cab. It's easy to get the lines in the wrong spot.
-take note of how the lines run along the frame rail and the order they go into the clips, from the front wheel to the abs controller
-be careful with the clips holding the brake lines in place. They are easy to break and many of them are NLA and it is non-trivial to even get used ones as they aren't easy to remove once installed.

I would also recommend replacing all the rubber hoses (there are 5 of them) if you haven't replaced them recently at the same time. And I suggest not getting the Russell SS braided hoses, as I got them and found them to be poorly fabricated (some were either slightly too short or too long), missing or had wrong brackets for holding them down (front lines were missing support to the upper A-arm and had no bracket for the abs cable to clip into), and the ends weren't bent lines the OEM lines were. You may need to get copper washers for the hoses (some come with copper washers, some come with cheaper aluminum ones, some don't come with them).