Diesel Place banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Talked to my buddy again today about biodiesel and he says we can run it in our duramax but that we should pre filter the heck out of it!

IS ANYBODY running biodiesel in there duramax?

I think we will be hereing alot more about biodiesel in the near future!

·
Registered
91 Posts
Gradyghost

I am currently running B5 Biodiesel, which is 5% soybean oil and 95% diesel surpreme. I have been using it for about two months and it has a cetane of 50-52. I spoke to the supplier and he will be reducing to B2 for the winter months. I am paying about $0.04 more per gallon. Advantages of soy Biodiesel is it has one heck of a lubricity increase. I have been running it in my ford tractor for two years. (using off road fuel).

Engineer Bill

·
Registered
490 Posts
Bill, who is your supplier? I am on the other side of Cleveland.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Pick

Midwood, it is sold at the pump for a $1.50 today. As B5 (5% soy bean oil and 95% diesel surpreme). It is located on the south side of Bowling Green, OH. This is a grain elevator and is also a supplier of fuel for the area farmers and businesses. Pump #5 is the biodiesel pump and #6 & $7 are diesel supreme.

Engineer Bill

·
Registered
107 Posts
Do you know if the rubber fittings on the Duramax need to be changed? I want to run 100% biodiesel in my Duramax.

·
Registered
1,440 Posts