Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
9,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all I am a newbie to this forum. I just ordered the fuel filter kit. Its like Xmas waiting for it to arrive. Ive been reading all the install tips and polishing my tools :)

What I want to ask is this. Do bigger diameter tires gear the truck up so it gets better mpg on the freeway. I would also like to go a little faster. I get passed by big rigs on long trips. I play it safe and keep it 1K rpm's under red line which is 72 miles an hour. My truck is new and has 8k miles on it. I bought a 03 duramax/alison 5 spd 4x4. I got the zero financing and extended warranty from gmc.

I must say I love this truck. It always gets looks of envy from everyone who owns a gas pickup. I put a snugtop on it for winter camping. I have a 800w inverter, coffee pot, heater, flourescent light, laptop and a 4 inch memory foam sleeping pad (heaven).

·
Registered
772 Posts
Problemchild,

Welcome aboard. Whether larger tires will benefit mileage depends on a number of things. The best mileage will be obtained at a speed where the power the engine is developing matches the truck's need for it. In some cases a taller gear (lower numerical ration) will allow the engine to turn at a more efficient rpm for the desired speed and better mileage will result. Larger tires might provide that benefit, though at some, perhaps minor, expense of low end grunt for towing heavy loads. It depends on your actual usage.