Diesel Place banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
704 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am curious as to everyones opinions why raising the line pressure in the Allison does not help to prolong the life of the clutch packs.

I am new to the Duramax, but have built countless numbers of 400+hp gas engines, and put them behind Turbo 350, 400 and other smaller transmissions with good success. Running these transmissions in their stock form was quick death, but even simple shift kits could make big improvements. We never needed to go full manual valve body, sprags, and clutches until well into the 500hp range.

I know the Duramax torque numbers are much greater, but why is there nothing offered between a stock Allison and a full on clutch replacement kit?

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
Amric said:
I am curious as to everyones opinions why raising the line pressure in the Allison does not help to prolong the life of the clutch packs.

I am new to the Duramax, but have built countless numbers of 400+hp gas engines, and put them behind Turbo 350, 400 and other smaller transmissions with good success. Running these transmissions in their stock form was quick death, but even simple shift kits could make big improvements. We never needed to go full manual valve body, sprags, and clutches until well into the 500hp range.

I know the Duramax torque numbers are much greater, but why is there nothing offered between a stock Allison and a full on clutch replacement kit?
personally i think it may help to a degree if you raised the pressure on a new tranny before it caught any abuse,but if you add any real power it would be like trying to stop a juglar wound with duct tape....jess

·
Registered
4,755 Posts