Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was filling up the other day & the guy at the next pump had a Dodge. He was adding an ounce of transmission fluid to his fuel, he said that it was an old truckers trick. He had 250K on his truck & told me that he never had a problem, but sure liked my truck. He said that it kept the injectors clean & was better than buying fuel additives.

Has anyone ever heard of this before or done this?

Also I'm new to the diesel world, my first - will never go back to gas the power is awsome - but I want to know will I cause problems if I start my DMax without waiting for the glow plug light to go off. I'm use to just starting the engine & going.

RickEdited by: Rick&Danni

·
Banned
6,539 Posts
Unless somebody with a whole lot of experience in the trannyfluid additive department showed convincing results, I don't think that Dodge owner could sway me into doing that in a Dmax.

That's it! He's puttin high quality additive in and telling all the Dmax owners he's using auto trans fluid.... no wonder there's injector problems

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hoot,

I've been reading alot of your posts & was hoping you would reply. I was hoping that you would agree that this sounded like a cheap mans way of not paying for the proper additives if you need one. I don't use any additive, never had any water problems with bad fuel & live in So. Cal so I don't worry about the cold weather. But should I be using one?

Can you answer the second part of my question about the glow plug light. Is it OK to just start my engine rigt away or don't worry about.

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
Use and additive at least every other tank of diesel... It helps to keep your fuel system clean.... And it may keep you out of injector trouble a ways down the road.....