Diesel Place banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all hope everyone is healthy. I am new to the diesel way of life and recently purchased a 2006 lly duramax express van. Owner said they swapped out the alternator and afterward had a low coolant light. There is a 2 pin connector loose that he could not find where to plug it in. Wires are yellow and black w/white. I found the connector it breaks out just behind the coolant over flow reservoir from engine harness. I stretched it out in a circle and didn’t find any mating 2 pin connectors. The only thing that looks like it might be is an oval void in the bottom of the reservoir, however it sealed from the coolant as it projects in the body of it. Is this a location for a coolant sensor but there’s no float? Would someone take a look under the hood and see please.

Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
Yep that is the spot so plug it in and go.

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
looks like you are missing the sensor..some new tanks come with it...some not..
Good thing you are paying attention since I obviously missed that.

Reactions: LCAC_Man

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you folks, off to look for a replacement tank....with sensor.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
DORMAN 603239 is a good replacement...don't go for the real cheap ones...they are cheap for a reason..
I just got an email from a gm parts supplier canceling my order...product is unavailable with no manufacturer availability date. Ill look into the dorman.
It is your conversion LCAC_Man that got me going into swapping the LLY engine and transmission from a donor into a fresher 2014 express body. I intend to add a 4 wheel drive system into this thing as well. Thanks for the inspiration and there will likely be many more questions along the way.

Reactions: OkDually

·
Registered
826 Posts