Diesel Place banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a complete newbie to diesels, but I bought a 1996 RV with a Chevy 6.5L 3500 engine. It started losing power, and the diagnosis is "injection pump is bad. Code is for an internal calibration problem."

So the mechanic says the fix is to repace th injection pump, for $2879 in parts and $5100 labor.

Does this sound reasonable?

Appreciate any help here!

·
Administrator
19,363 Posts
I'm a complete newbie to diesels, but I bought a 1996 RV with a Chevy 6.5L 3500 engine. It started losing power, and the diagnosis is "injection pump is bad. Code is for an internal calibration problem."

So the mechanic says the fix is to repace th injection pump, for $2879 in parts and $5100 labor.

Welcome to DieselPlace

Tell us a little more about the RV. ( Make and Model) and list any engine mods.

Considering if you bargain shop for an Injection pump you can find one for about 500-600 bucks and being generous on labor i figure 12-15 hrs max..
I'd say You better run for the hills .. someone wants you to pay their house mortgage..

Is your engine equipped with a mechanical injection pump or DS4 electronic with a PMD installed?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to DieselPlace

Considering if you bargain shop for an Injection pump you can find one for about 500-600 bucks and being generous on labor i figure 12-15 hrs max..
I'd say You better run for the hills .. someone wants you to pay their house mortgage..

Is your engine equipped with a mechanical injection pump or DS4 electronic with a PMD installed?
Welcome to DieselPlace

Thank you Dually!

It's a 1996 Safari Trek, real nice inside. The engine was replaced with a remanufactured one 120,000 miles ago. I don't know what kind of injection pump

·
Administrator
19,363 Posts
Thank you Dually!