Diesel Place banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a newbie hear so be gentle.....:eek::

I don't want to fork out the cash for a Dmax just yet, but I would like more ponies.

I have a 2000, Silverado style, 6.0, 4x4, 2500, w/115,000 miles and I'm interested in putting in an 8.1.

Do I need to replace the 4l80e? I think it will hold up...just unsure, or do I "HAVE" to have the Allison...My thoughts were..I would not need as much electrical swapping parts if I could keep my current tranny, and less $$$.

If the 8.1 v. 6.0 is similar to the old 7.4 v. 5.7 swap, then I would be in pretty good shape, but I don't know a lot about these new ones.

Bell housinging, motor mounts, a/c p/s pumps, wire harness, computers, flex plate and torque converter, exhaust manifolds? Anyone know what will and will not work? Or is this a 100% waste of time and money?:confuzeld

It seems you can get a complete 8100 for about 3k with reasonable miles on it.

My current motor is just fine, It just doesn't like 15,000 lbs behind it like my father in laws D-max.

Thanks in advance for any help,:thankyou2
tractorboy

Attachments

·
Registered
2,302 Posts
I don't think the 8.1 will mate up to the 4L80 - bu t not positive.

Pretty sure that the tranny can't handle the torque of the 8.1

As far as the swap making sense - I'd bet you could sell your 6.0 and get an equllivant (or probably newer with lower miles) version with an 8.1 for less than the 3K difference that the new motor would cost. Not to mention all the time you'd put into the swap.

·
Registered
409 Posts
x2

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
The 4L80 does fit the 8.1. It is what they put in the Suburbans and non HD pickups. If you don't have a HD, you can't put the Alli in because of the lack of floor space.

·
Registered
588 Posts