·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm really new to the 6.5L engine so my questions are the following:

1) What is the difference between a 1994 6.5L vs 1998 6.5L

2) On the RPO codes, I noticed there were 6.5L Turbo HO and 6.5L Turbo,
can someone tell me the difference between the two engines?

I didn't see this information in the FAQ document so if someone could shed some light on these questions then that would be great.

Thank you,

Pete..:)

·
Registered
7,134 Posts
1. The main differences between the 94 and 98 6.5's was the blocks changed in 97 to piston oil spray cooling. They also changed turbos and updated the IP's(if it has been replaced though it has the updated one). And the cooling system changed in 97 as well to a higher volume pump and dual t-stats. The 94 is actually a more desireable block thean the 97+ block.
2. The main distinction between the HO's and the standard turbo was the HO engine was the F engine(non EGR), and the turbo engine was the S engine(with EGR). People often refer to them as F for fast and S for slow.

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello Fermanator and thank you for answering my questions. Are the HP/Torque ratings similar or the same?

Thanks again,

Pete

·
Registered
6,945 Posts
'94 is OBD-I, '98 is OBD-II, with better functionality..

Main mechanical difference in F and S engine is the pre-cups - larger outlet port for more power in the F engine

Or - smaller-port pre-cups in the S engine for emissions and economy.

Remove the S EGR, you still do not have an F engine, even with the F PCM.

All else is the same, but with better coolant passages in the head, ca'98.

·
Registered
6,495 Posts

·
Registered
8,014 Posts
so how do u know if u have an egr engine, F or S?
CBD welcome to the site take a minute to read through the welcome notes and FAQ in my signature link for info how to update yours.