Diesel Place banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y’all I’m a bit of a beginner with wrenching so after doing a few minor fixes on trucks, diesels I decided the best way to learn was to do a frame up build complete with new bushings, frame coating and a body off paint job not to mention the engine swap. The reason I’m taking the 454 out (I know a lot of you will say “keep the 454”) well it’s not mine. I went halfers on the 97 c3500 hd with a friend who wanted the BBC/4l80e so all im left with is everything else (cab, frame, all the electronics are still in the truck) and the 6.5 is out of my 95 k1500 z71 that will eventually get a duramax so long story short I have an engine/trans, I have an empty shell of a truck and I’m spending most of my days thinking about how to get the necessary Electronics from the 6.5 to work in the c3500 might seem like a dumb question but like I said I just have a bit of experience with mechanical things and none with electronics yet so any help in learning would be awesome thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,935 Posts
Swapping gas to diesel is a lot of work.
Other than the Complete engine, and trans you need:
the complete fuel system, including the tank.
The complete 6.5 diesel wiring harness for engine, transmission, and under dash. Including the Diesel Gauge cluster..
Must have a proper PCM compatable to the engine, year, and trans, combo.
Cooling system hoses, lines. overflow, tank, radiator. Engine and trans oil Coolers and lines.
Complete hydro steer steering column assembly. So you will have power steering and brakes.
Complete diesel air intake system.
Diesel Exhaust system
This is just the short list off the top of my head.

·
Registered
1995 GMC Suburban
18,383 Posts
What do you mean by a ".. bit of beginner.." and ".. a bit of experience with mechanical things..."

Transplanting an engine with different type of fuel is not of "a bit" type of mechanics.