Diesel Place banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live at 10K feet and I am leaning toward Racor pre EOM. Do any of you flatlanders see any problems I may encounter at this elevation?

The Dmax runs GREAT up here

Steve

·
Registered
365 Posts
Fishdmax,

As atmospheric pressure is reduced and additional vacuum is created with a second fuel filter, it just may be prone to air coming out of solution in the fuel. That could bubble at the top of your filters and cause problems. When I was a science teacher I used to boil ice water under low air pressure for a similar situation. Neat to see but not desirable in a fuel system.

Some kind of lift pump might be helpful if needed.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Steve,

I am installing the nictane cat system this weekend. I live in Colorado Springs, at 6000 feet. Regularly go up into the front range, in the 9-10K range. I will post here my results asap.

John

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks John. I live in Leadville (10,200') and don't want to add the second filter if it is going to cause problems.

p.s. Snowing and 32 degrees right now Edited by: fishdmax

·
Registered
448 Posts
FWIW,

At 10,000 ft many turbine eng. helicopters turn on their fuel boost pumps to prevent vapor lock. I know apples and oranges, but the fuel is very similar to winter diesel fuel.

·
Registered
276 Posts
I too would be interested in the what the altitude does to the second filter.

I do NOT have a second filter yet, I'm still analysing (and there's a lot of that to be done.
), but we do vacation in CO regularly, so I would like to know what affect altitude is going to have...

cadman_ks

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
CADman, your fuel filter pics are scary. I've changed my filter every 10K miles, or after returning from Mexico, which ever is first.

·
Registered
276 Posts
fishdmax said:
CADman, your fuel filter pics are scary....