Diesel Place banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on a 2005 Tahoe that's starting to drive me up the wall and could use some guidance.

I'll start by saying that this is not my vehicle and I'm not a mechanic; I'm an electrician. I work on my own vehicles and can usually find and solve the issues within a few hours.

The Tahoe started out with a complaint of overheating and over the course of the week I eliminated 3 different coolant leaks and was asked to diagnose a knock sensor. After scanning the truck I pulled up a bunch of codes; they are as follows:

P0332 Knock sensor 2 cct low
P0343 camshaft position sensor cct high voltage
P0446 Evap vent solenoid control system
P0455 Evap system large leak
C0201 ABSenable relay cct open
C0455 steering position sensor cct malfunction
P0101 MAF sensor performance
P0102 MAF sensor cct low frequency
P0171 Fuel Trim system lean bank 1
P0174 Fuel trim system lean bank 2

I ordered in a pair of knock sensors, MAF sensor, and a camshaft position sensor and they were all replaced.

After replacing the sensors It had an even harder time starting than it did before and sometimes will need to be cranked for several seconds and let sit before trying again.
The engine is now also throwing out a P0343 camshaft position sensor high voltage as well as a P0342 camshaft position sensor low voltage at the same time after having replaced the sensor. I have back probed the camshaft sensor wiring at the ECU (and the sensor) and the signal coming back looks fine to me on the oscilloscope; although frankly I can't find anything to actually compare it to.

Top is the CMP and the bottom is the CKP.

I'm leaning toward the ECU having an issue but I'm not 100% and I don't want to have the owner replace it only to have an ongoing issue. I also haven't been able to really drive the truck around but I've had the knock sensor DTC come back as well as a new one that wasn't there before.