Diesel Place banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have a question.

Let me start off by telling you that I am new here and I am a GM tech by trade...Not a Diesel tech though, rather a very good gas engine tech.

I have been "forced" to work on a Duramax because the usuall diesel guy is backed up to his ears with diesels.

OK, this thing has been in before and the usual diesel guy installed a fuel pump and a FICM. It did not fix the problem.

The customers complaint is a "crank, no start" and a "long crank, hard start". I have so far checked for codes, there are no codes. I have checked for desired vs. actual fuel rail pressure and it looks to be good. I can get the truck to run easily and command the regulator to full pressure and it will achive 23,000 psi rail pressure @ 2000 RPM, so I know the pump is good.

I started out with the shop manual checking the supply side for air intrution. I plugged the supply tube at the back of the engine and applied 25 inches of vaccum to the return line...6 times with a pause to allow for stabilization, on Friday!

Monday morning the guage showed 22 inches of vaccum. So I don't see any leaks at the engine side of the system.

I then continued on to the supply from the tank as per manual procedures. Still no leak found.

Next step is to loop a transparent hose between the FICM outlet and the filter intet and watch for air bubbles.

If bubbles are pressent, suspect an air leak at the fuel tank pick-up. If air bubbles are not pressent, move on to the high pressure side.

Well here is my question:

I get little to no bubbles at idle, but if I command fuel pressure to max @ 2,000 rpm (about 23,000 psi) I then get a steady stream of air bubbles.

Is this normal, or do I have an air leak in the fuel pick-up in the tank?

Or is it something else? I'm not normally a diesel guy.

Please let me know if you need more info.

Thank you, Scott

Edited by: 1fatcat

·
Registered
125 Posts
Scott