Diesel Place banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought this 1997 TD Silverado 2500
My computer is throwing code P1214 which is the injection pump timing offset; service recommends resetting the ECM. I have taken this to a mechanic and he looked at it with his scan tool and said he could not get it to relearn the offset. the timing was right on around 12° and was 2° off on the offset which he diagnosed as needing a new injection pump. Cleared the code and it comes right back. Supposedly the IP in it is rather new but the truck sat for a couple years with dead batteries. The truck runs great. The prvious owner does have the wastegate zip tied open as well ( I build at most 5lbs of boost on the gauge). I cut the zip tie and the motor fails to rev up and smokes like crazy. Would a mechanical homemade turbomaster work for this situation or do I need a new vacuum pump? I am new to the Diesel motor so any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
1995 GMC Suburban
17,827 Posts
Welcome!!!

Not sure about P1214.

Yes, you can use TurboMaster or any mechanical wastegate, homemade or purchase from Heath Diesel.
There is a reason why the PO does not put a new vacuum pump.
Not sure why you cannot rev up, usually that points to bad armature in the IP.
May be it is related to the P1214.

I would try to fix the P1214 first. Somebody will chime in on how to deal with that.

·
Premium Member
9,478 Posts
:welcome2: to the Forum!

If you install a "turbo master" make sure to install a boost gauge as well. The boost gauge will help you set up the turbo master. Should keep boost to 10lbs or less without a Pyro gauge.

Setting the "timing offset" on 1996-2000 6.5L trucks requires a specific scan tool: Car Code or AutoEnginuity PC software and cable.