Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I am still fairly new to the sight, I don't have d-max yet but it is in the works, as I am in the process of switching jobs. I am currently employed as a GM Technician. Anywho several of my buddys do have Dmax's. I am trying to get an idea on what to do with one of them. It is an 04.5, that has a straight pipe and an air filter, other than those two stock. Anywho he drives the hell out of the thing, and can get it to set a 1093. When I drive it, I cant get it to do it. It pulls about 3.5" of vacuum at an idle. At steady 60mph cruising, roughly 8.5", heavy acceleration 13". I have changed the filter, when I drive know problem when he drives it he can usually get it to set a 1093. Those of you that have shimmed the fprv for this problem, has it taken care of it, with no other faults? Any input will be appreciated.

Riley

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Riley, take a snapshot of engine data 2 and make a couple WOT passes. If you see the pressure build to the desired pressure and then drop off, the FPRV is probably blowing and releasing the fuel rail pressure. You can also do the "bottle test". I've only had one truck that still had 1093's after I shimmed it, apparently it didn't have enough shim. In my opinion, the springs aren't manufactured to a very exact tolerance, that is why some trucks 1093 more than others. What tune is your buddy running? Others here will tell you differently I'm sure, but I have stopped 1093's on the PPE Hot+2 with a shim only and no lift pump. A lift pump will support more HP, but will not stop 1093's.

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No tune, stock other than the exhaust and air filter. I thought about just ordering the kit from ppe, and installing it. I read the thread on the install, and seems pretty simple, his is pretty much the first lly I have had to work on. It had all been lb7's before his. Thanks for the insight.

Riley

·