Diesel Place banner

6.5 Diesel Rough idle, Stalling, etc..

5K views 24 replies 5 participants last post by  OkDually 
#1 ·
Hi everyone I am new to this page and I’m seeking help. I have a 2000, Chevy K3500 Rack Body with a 6.5 Diesel (134,000) miles on it.
The problem all began with water in the fuel. We changed the tank, flushed out the diesel, and put a new injector pump right off the bat. After all that work the truck still kept stalling because not enough fuel was reaching to the fuel housing. The sock on the sending unit kept getting clogged and the truck would stall. We removed the sock and some how there was still debris on the bottom of the new tank. We ended up returning the new injector pump since it got dirty and put a new one in, as well as brand new injectors. The PMD has been relocated to the front of the truck under the bumper 5 years ago. The truck starts, when it gets warm it begins to idle and the engine shakes, and when I take it for a spin and slam on the pedal the truck would just shut up. If anyone can help me that would be great, thanks for your time.

#2 ·
Welcome to DieselPlace
I moved your post over to the 6.5L section for better views and answers to your issue.

:thumb:

#3 ·
Air in fuel so when you fix it, there are still some leak or the debris still clogging.
Nothing you can do except putting a filter somewhere.
Did you replace the Lift Pump also?

#5 ·
Yes I replaced the lift pump as well, should I get new lines? I don't understand why it stalls either. Maybe the PCM is bad again.
Did you replace the tank sock?
Have you checked and cleaned the inside of the Fuel Filter Manager?
down inside of the bottom of the fuel filter housing is a small screen filter that can get clogged.

#6 ·