Diesel Place banner

Keyless Entry not working...BCM?

LMM: 
9K views 20 replies 8 participants last post by  654L80 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hello all,
I am new to the fourm! I bought a new to me 2008 Gmc 2500 Duramax about a week ago. Truck was very well taken care of. I noticed driving to work the other day my low tire light came on said pressure was low then went out and came back later on with a constant flashing tire indicator and error message saying "service tire monitor system" along with that my keyless entry no longer works remote start etc. I know its not the battery in the remote its been replaced. Any ideas. Could it be a bad BCM?

#2 ·
Welcome to DieselPlace
I moved your post over to "Electrical" for better views and responses

:thumb:

#3 · (Edited)
It could be lots of things. First start by having your truck scanned with a scanner that will read the BCM. The national autoparts chain stores (Autozone, etc) usually have such scanners. There may/may not be codes, but if there is, that's at least a better place to start than guessing. Write down all the codes and report back. Make sure your battery is fully charged and the battery connections are clean on both ends. Amazing how many problems occur because of bad battery.

#4 ·
Sounds more like an RCDLR issue.

#9 ·
I'll have to admit that the RCDLR stumped me. Had no idea what that meant.

Remote Control Door Lock Receiver Programming and Setup

Important:

• When replacing the remote control door lock receiver (RCDLR), the tire pressure monitoring (TPM) information can be learned to the new RCDLR in one of two ways. These two methods are reflected in the selections below. Only choose one of the methods; it is not required to do both methods when replacing the RCDLR.