Auxiliary Input on Radio - Install - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums
 
Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > Speciality Forums > Electrical
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

Electrical Discuss anything related to OEM & aftermarket electrical devices including: stereos, speakers, video, batteries, starters, the body control module, lighting, etc.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2012, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
BrennanK
Moderator
Diesel Specialist
 
BrennanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,347
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

DieselPlace.com Lifetime Premium Member

Auxiliary Input on Radio - Install

I wanted to share my experiences installing an auxiliary input on my Bose, OnStar, and XM equipped truck. I used a iSimple ISGM535, it is a completely plug a play system; nothing more then inserting it in between the radio and existing harness.

Unfortunately I did not get any pictures during the install process, but I have a few from after. The install was not complicated, but some steps were involved and it really helped having another set of hands.

1. I chocked off my tires and placed my shifter into first gear. Then I carefully removed the bezel surrounding the dash. The bezel just clips on, I started in the lower left and worked my way around.

2. After the bezel is off I was able to remove the radio. I choose to remove the climate control as well for more room and to not run the risk of scratching it. Pulling the radio was where the second hands come in handy, one person to hold the radio while the other person can wiggle behind it to disconnect the harness(s).

3. After everything was removed you simply clipped the supplied harness onto the existing one. Then find a place to hide all the excess wiring and the module. Then you can choose the location for your AUX port or cable. I put mine in the cubby just right of the climate control.

4. Reinstalling the radio was much simpler due to the extra length on the harness. The RCA antenna was still difficult, it was to short to pull out and connect. I had to fish around blind and feel it into the hole. To be honest, if I would have known how short it was I would have bought a 1 foot RCA extension and used that.

5. Now I reinstalled my climate control and replaced my bezel. I powered on my radio and pressed the band button until SAT appeared, then rotated the turner nob until AUX 1 appeared and press the second preset button the choose AUX1. (You will not have to do this every time, AUX 1 now appears as an option when I scroll through the band options.)

Notes:
Remove all the CD's prior to removing the radio. If you plan on working with the door open, I would disconnect your batteries otherwise you will have to listen to the chiming because the key is locked in when in first gear. When pulling the radio out, don't force it. Some of the harnesses have clasps and are really short. You will have to jam your hand back there and try and feel the harness off.

I choose to use a dual female 3.5mm keystone wall adapter so I would not have a cable hanging out, rather I would have a headphones port to plug in a aux cable. I attached a few images of it below.

The whole setup was just shy of $80.00, which is great in my opinion. I use my Android phone to stream Pandora or other services rather then paying for XM or burning CD's all the time.


I enjoyed the install and really enjoy the flexibility of my AUX input while still maintaining the stock look and functions.

If you have questions, I would be happy to answer them for you.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0019.jpg (56.1 KB, 8024 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0024.jpg (62.1 KB, 7502 views)
File Type: jpg 2012-03-09 12.40.35.jpg (68.8 KB, 1583 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0023.jpg (44.2 KB, 6046 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0022.jpg (44.7 KB, 2329 views)
File Type: jpeg iSimple_ISGM535.jpeg (53.7 KB, 1770 views)
__________________
2005 Black GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT - CCSB
Installed:
AUX Radio Input (iSimple ISGM535) - High Idle Mod - Head Gaskets (June [email protected]) - OEM Cab Lights - LBZ Mouth Piece - All On Headlight Mod - Puddle and Footwell LED's - OEM Towing Mirrors - Uniden BCT15x Scanner - Gauges in Trippin' Overhead mount - Rigid Industries Dually Backup Lights - UC6 radio with LUX amp
-Stock tuning and staying that way

Future:
LBZ door badges, Kennedy lift pump, aux CAT filter
Offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2012, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
dezert_rida
Diesel Fanatic
 
dezert_rida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oceanside,CA
Posts: 140
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Im interested in doing this to my truck as well. I like your idea of using the female end in the cubby hole. Its discreet and clean.

I have a dumb question.....why did you need to put the shifter in 1st gear?

__________________
07 2500HD Classic Black crewcab\SB Duramax LBZ
-Diablosport 120HP
-Diamond Eye True downpipe
-4" straight exhaust from band clamp back
-AEM intake with AFE filter and outerwear
-PPE EGR Blocker Plate
-PPE fuel plug
-Edge Insight W\EGT
-BD Diesel manifold
-Intake resonator bypassed
-RCD 6" front, 2" rear blocks, Low profile bumpstops for lower arms.
-Cognito steering braces
-325-60-20 Falkens on Helo Maxx Chrome 20s

'14 Subaru Wrx: TBE,Ewg,Cai,Fmic, 318awhp\344ftlbs
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2012, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
CRLLB7
Diesel Apprentice
 
CRLLB7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Carroll County MD
Posts: 321
iTrader Score: 4 reviews

DelMarVa Diesel Club Member

I do like the fact that its hidden away too. Im lookin to go to a droid and will probably end up doing something similar. how bad does that wear on your phone battery?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dezert_rida View Post
I have a dumb question.....why did you need to put the shifter in 1st gear?
in my experience at least, ive found it easier to get the dash bezel off with the selector way down in first gear.
__________________
06 GMC 2500hd CCSB LBZ--- Hypertech Max, 5" MBRP downpipe back, Banks boost tube, Nicktane CAT adapter, PPE Airbox mod, afe filter, 285/75 GY MTR, Leer 100XQ, Prodigy BC, Autometer SCII Boost/Pyro, Bballer turbine brake.
SOLD-->2001 RCLB Duramax #89

"What you don't have in your head, you'd better have in your wallet." Bud LaMotte

"Last to quit, first to buy the beer"-Ledoux
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2012, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
turnpike
Diesel Champ
 
turnpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alberta/Arizona
Posts: 1,961
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by dezert_rida View Post
clipped........I have a dumb question.....why did you need to put the shifter in 1st gear?
Never a dumb question, just curious minds need to know, and if you have never done it, it can be a challenge.
Put in first gear, lower the tilt wheel, in order to remove the face bezel from the dash. Bezel will not come out over the column if not in first gear. Put your finger nails in the crack about one half inch forward from the rear edge of the trim piece, and pull rearward. Once top is free, pull edges all the way around. The bezel is the dash board face trim that covers the area from the left side of the dash over to the right side of the radio, and from the top of the dash to the steering column. Then the screws that hold the instrument cluster, the heater controls, and the radio are all exposed for removal.
__________________
Turnpike

'16 Chev 2500HD LTZ Z71, CC, Duramax, Allsion, 4wd, new Sept 2016, has factory fifth wheel prep so added a Curt hitch.

Traded off-'05 Chev, 2500HD, CC, SB, Duramax, Allison, 4WD, bought new April '05, sold at 179,400 miles, LBZ mouthpeice, Blocker Plate & Unplugged EGR, Air Box cut out, lost the cat, 52 US Gal (196 Litre) Titan Fuel Tank, SuperChips tuner reset to stock and retained, AirLift air bags, BrakeSmart Trailer Brake controller, PaceEdwards cover-replaced 2013, DSP Fifth Hitch, JVC KW-NT1 headunit, kept the"AutoEnginuity" scanner.

'02 GMC, 2500HD, CC, SB, D/A, 4wd, Traded in - wrong color

Last edited by turnpike; 03-10-2012 at 10:43 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 12:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
BrennanK
Moderator
Diesel Specialist
 
BrennanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,347
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

DieselPlace.com Lifetime Premium Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRLLB7 View Post
I do like the fact that its hidden away too. Im lookin to go to a droid and will probably end up doing something similar. How bad does that wear on your phone battery?

To be honest I haven't used it enough to really notice. It defiantly will kill it, especially if it is a 4G phone. I tend to force mine into 3G just to save battery. I have used it for about 3 straight hours and my phone was still going at the end of the day, that is all I have at the moment.

I am planing on installing a female USB port that provides power to USB devices. I will have a writeup on that when I get around to that.

For right now I removed my cigarette lighter and got a USB adapter with a short cable so I can plug in when needed.
I prefer the micro ones like this, so they don't stick out and I can just always leave it in the lighter port.
__________________
2005 Black GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT - CCSB
Installed:
AUX Radio Input (iSimple ISGM535) - High Idle Mod - Head Gaskets (June [email protected]) - OEM Cab Lights - LBZ Mouth Piece - All On Headlight Mod - Puddle and Footwell LED's - OEM Towing Mirrors - Uniden BCT15x Scanner - Gauges in Trippin' Overhead mount - Rigid Industries Dually Backup Lights - UC6 radio with LUX amp
-Stock tuning and staying that way

Future:
LBZ door badges, Kennedy lift pump, aux CAT filter
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Diesel Wanna Be
Diesel Specialist
 
Diesel Wanna Be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 3,460
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Illinois Diesel Power (IDP) Member

Midwest Smokers Member

Nicely done! I think I'll have to add this to my 'to-do' list.
__________________
2005 D-max w/5-Speed Ally 2WD Chevy Silverado 2500HD, CC/SB LS - SOLD 3/17/16.

2012 Sierra SLT 4x4 Z71, CC/SB, DPF/EGR/Cat deleted, 4" Exhaust w/FTE 31" Resonator, PPEI EFI Live - Purchased 3/20/16.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2012, 10:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
RandallMiller
Clutch
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 51
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

I want to do this same thing to my truck, but I also want to add a sub woofer. Can I use this and one of the PAC's to get an line out for a aftermarket sub? Will there be room behind the radio for all of these stacked adapters?

Randall
__________________
2004 Sierra 2500HD Duramax Crew Cab
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2012, 01:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
BrennanK
Moderator
Diesel Specialist
 
BrennanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,347
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

DieselPlace.com Lifetime Premium Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandallMiller View Post
I want to do this same thing to my truck, but I also want to add a sub woofer. Can I use this and one of the PAC's to get an line out for a aftermarket sub? Will there be room behind the radio for all of these stacked adapters?

Randall
Yes. They will not go directly behind the radio, as there is a metal bracket there. But, you can snake them around and tuck them into several nooks. I would say that 2 adapters is about the max you will be able to fit though.

If worse comes to worse, you might be able to get a harness extension or something from PAC to allow you a little more working room in addition to more placement options.

I do not have stacked adapters so I am not positive it will work, but you can email PAC and they will let you know.
__________________
2005 Black GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT - CCSB
Installed:
AUX Radio Input (iSimple ISGM535) - High Idle Mod - Head Gaskets (June [email protected]) - OEM Cab Lights - LBZ Mouth Piece - All On Headlight Mod - Puddle and Footwell LED's - OEM Towing Mirrors - Uniden BCT15x Scanner - Gauges in Trippin' Overhead mount - Rigid Industries Dually Backup Lights - UC6 radio with LUX amp
-Stock tuning and staying that way

Future:
LBZ door badges, Kennedy lift pump, aux CAT filter
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 02:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Blueshirt24
Self Ignition
 
Blueshirt24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 85
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

I just bought a 2005 2500 and it has the same radio (it appears) as yours. It does have Bose, 6 changer, and OnStar, but how do I know if it has XM or not? I know that adapter will only work if I do have XM. Thanks.
__________________
ASE Certified Medium/Heavy Duty Diesel Mechanic

2005 GMC 2500HD LLY CCSB.

DDM HIDs. PIAA hb's. LED reverse lights.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 03:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Blueshirt24
Self Ignition
 
Blueshirt24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 85
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

So I checked it out and it looks like I don't have XM. When I scroll through my sources and bands I can't get it to go to XM. Also no XM antenna on the roof and no module behind the glovebox. It's my understanding that I need to have the dealer activate the XM feature on my radio for this setup to work?

__________________
ASE Certified Medium/Heavy Duty Diesel Mechanic

2005 GMC 2500HD LLY CCSB.

DDM HIDs. PIAA hb's. LED reverse lights.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

PLEASE READ! You must check your email inbox for the confirmation link to complete registration. Please check your spam box if you do not see the email in your inbox.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote auxiliary XM antenna install ? gypsygator Electrical 3 10-07-2010 05:00 PM
NAV-TV Video Input for INR Navigation radio + Audio input Sinecure1 Closed / Archived Marketplace Ads 10 03-24-2010 01:07 AM
PAC AAI-GM24 2000-2006 GM Auxiliary Audio Input Converter? dwebb66 GM Gassers 0 05-31-2008 05:01 PM
PAC AAI-GM24 2000-2006 GM Auxiliary Audio Input Converter? dwebb66 Electrical 0 05-29-2008 09:47 PM
IPOD owners look-Peripheral PXGM24 Factory Auxiliary Input Adapter Doo800XP Electrical 5 12-19-2006 09:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
© AutoGuide