2 Stroke oil in diesel fuel = BAD - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > Speciality Forums > Maintenance & Fluids > Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements Bio-Diesel and related Discussion. Ask Questions and discuss what has worked for you here.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By c20elephant
  • 3 Post By TheBac

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2016, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
cmonks91
Heat Sink

iTrader Score: 0 reviews

2 Stroke oil in diesel fuel = BAD

So I'm new to diesels, and sceptical on Fuel additives, but I thought I'd look in to it, seems like a lot of guys like Opti-Lube XPD, And I seen studies that show it does help in different ways, but locally (Central Alberta, Canada) It is not very easy to come across. I started looking in to "home brews" or mixing additives with 2-stroke oils. Came across this study that shows that adding 2 stroke oil in diesel fuel actually has more Cons than Pros.

have a gander at this study.

2-Stroke Oil In Diesel ? A Technical Study

Based on the results of this study, the following conclusions are drawn:

At a 200:1 volumetric blending ratio, 2-stroke oil has a negligible effect on diesel lubricity.
All diesel fuel sold in South Africa has to meet the SANS 342:2014 lubricity specification to ensure the proper protection of diesel fuel pumps and injector systems.
The low sulphur diesel products sold by Sasol contain lubricity improver additives which are far more effective than 2-stroke oil.
At a 200:1 volumetric blending ratio, 2-stroke oil has a negligible effect on diesel cetane number.