reprogramming speedo for 22.5's - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums
 
Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > Speciality Forums > Medium Duty Trucks
FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

Medium Duty Trucks Discuss Kodiak/Topkicks, 4500/5500 & up medium duty GM trucks.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2011, 08:03 PM  
bart kodiak
Gear Grinder
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

reprogramming speedo for 22.5's

hey guys, 1st time poster here. I have a 2006 kodiak 4500 4x4 that i recently put a set of 10r22.5's on. the speedo is off by at least 10mph and id like to get it corrected. Are there any aftermarket programmers that will do this or do i need to check with the dealer? I currently have no performance mods done so if i can get something that will give me some more power and change the speedo at the same time that would be great. What are my options as far as programmers and performance mods such as exhaust and so forth? Thanks in advance for any help!

Offline  
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2011, 10:11 PM  
bbc03
Self Ignition
 
bbc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Woodbridge VA Murtle Beach SC
Posts: 84
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Ppe

pacific performance eng. programer will do the trick!

Offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 02:39 AM  
SHOCKER
Diesel Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 477
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

The dealer or a Tech II will do the trick.
You have to go in an set the "NEW" roll out measurement (#?) into the system. You calculate your rollout (Divide 5280 by "roll out" = #?). I have 40s on my rig and it's right on. If you end up needing the exact steps I can dig further.

-Pat
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2011, 04:46 PM  
cbraga
Diesel Apprentice
 
cbraga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Salinas, California
Posts: 407
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Yea a programmer will not fix the Speedo problem. I am using a Scangauge II to get the right mph with my tire size. The dealer can also do it but I couldn’t get one to take the time to help me out. Here you can see where I mounted the unit.
__________________
2006 Kodiak 4500 4x4 LBZ
EFI Live by Idaho Rob
Fleece Performance 63mm Turbo
Sun Coast IV trans
FASS 95/150 fuel pump
Snow Performance methanol injection
Custom Magna Flow 5" exhaust, turbo back
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 10:18 PM  
bbc03
Self Ignition
 
bbc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Woodbridge VA Murtle Beach SC
Posts: 84
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

PPE does correct for tire size! check their web site.
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2011, 08:47 AM  
Jager
Diesel Boss
 
Jager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vermont, but want to leave
Posts: 1,311
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

cbraga I also thought that my PPE would (could) correct for tire size. I'm still running stock tires so I don't have to make any corrections but I thought it could. I see you are running a PPE tune but you're saying turners won't correct the problem. Did you try to use your PPE tuner and you couldn't get it to work?

BTW > > > your truck just kicks total ***. What a smoking ride! Very nice!
__________________
2014 Chevy 2500HD LTZ, CC, 4x4, d-max, buckets, bone stock

2007 Newmar Essex 4510 Diesel Pusher, Cummins ISL 500hp
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2011, 01:58 PM  
SHOCKER
Diesel Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 477
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

On the C4500 it has a diffferent set-up than 2500HDs. Our C4500s are in tow haul all the time, a 2500HD programmer won't work in a C4500. The programming is different but close to the same.

Someone with a tech II can fix this issue and that's the only way I know to fix the MPH on our trucks.

It's simple but like Carson said "...the dealer won't spend the time."

Try to find a dealer that will help you is my only advice.

Best of luck.
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2011, 10:46 PM  
bbc03
Self Ignition
 
bbc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Woodbridge VA Murtle Beach SC
Posts: 84
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

PPE has topkick, kodiak specific programmers now that do tire size. the older ones dont! callem and ask.
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2011, 11:45 PM  
Fozzy
Glow Plug
 
Fozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 275
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

My PPE has the tire size option. I have not changed tires to see if it works. it is a Kodiak only tuner.

Cbraga, did I just see your truck for sale on line!!!!! I could not part with that bad boy if it was mine.
__________________
06, 4X4, Kodiak 4 door, Monroe Pick up truck. 1st gen Link air ride.
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2011, 11:08 AM  
cbraga
Diesel Apprentice
 
cbraga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Salinas, California
Posts: 407
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

If a new PPE programmer will work than that's news to me. When I got mine I was told and found out that it will not correct the mph. I will have to send mine in to get the update. Fizzy yea trucks on some sites for sale. It's one of those things though, it's for sale but not for sale. I don't really need to sell it, but if someone will give me full asking price I might do it.

__________________
2006 Kodiak 4500 4x4 LBZ
EFI Live by Idaho Rob
Fleece Performance 63mm Turbo
Sun Coast IV trans
FASS 95/150 fuel pump
Snow Performance methanol injection
Custom Magna Flow 5" exhaust, turbo back
Offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

PLEASE READ! You must check your email inbox for the confirmation link to complete registration. Please check your spam box if you do not see the email in your inbox.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reprogramming the speedo timoloco Wheels & Tires 12 01-25-2010 03:29 PM
Reprogramming ddbackhoe 6.5L Diesel Engine 1 05-21-2009 05:19 PM
speedo reprogramming?? hwood Interior 1 08-18-2006 10:44 PM
Reprogramming Key Fob trplddd Electrical 3 07-04-2006 01:26 PM
Reprogramming for Lux Amp Iceman18T Electrical 8 01-15-2006 01:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
© AutoGuide