Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums (https://www.dieselplace.com/forum/)
-   Duramax Sixth Generation: 2017+ (L5P) (https://www.dieselplace.com/forum/63-gm-diesel-engines/786-duramax-sixth-generation-2017-l5p/)
-   -   Dual Alternators (https://www.dieselplace.com/forum/63-gm-diesel-engines/786-duramax-sixth-generation-2017-l5p/975550-dual-alternators.html)

Nick1234 04-28-2019 02:47 PM

Dual Alternators

I am very new to the diesel world. Just purchased a 2019 3500 (High Country) SRW. It came with dual alternators. I pull a Reflection 303. What is the advantage ( if any) to having dual alternators?

averey0 04-28-2019 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick1234 (Post 9816578)
I am very new to the diesel world. Just purchased a 2019 3500 (High Country) SRW. It came with dual alternators. I pull a Reflection 303. What is the advantage ( if any) to having dual alternators?

Since you have dual batteries it recharges them faster plus you can run more electronics at any given time

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

4 Speed Dave 04-28-2019 04:36 PM

I ordered my 2018 with dual alternators. I snow plow and have a 9.5' Fisher plow which is why I went with two alternators. These larger plows are quite demanding on the electrical system. I don't see many ordered with two.

averey0 04-28-2019 05:20 PM

The funny thing is that almost all mid trim and up F250ís are ordered with them. I think the reason is that most F250ís are seen as a more work oriented truck. I can tell you from personal experience they are more setup for work type use but they are not as comfortable to drive on a day to day basis. This is my first GMC and love it but it does have short comings if your looking for a dedicated work truck. I decided on comfort this go around and glad I did.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

D.Camilleri 04-28-2019 11:11 PM