Diesel Place banner

Dual Alternators

5K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  nutdriver 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I am very new to the diesel world. Just purchased a 2019 3500 (High Country) SRW. It came with dual alternators. I pull a Reflection 303. What is the advantage ( if any) to having dual alternators?

#3 ·
I ordered my 2018 with dual alternators. I snow plow and have a 9.5' Fisher plow which is why I went with two alternators. These larger plows are quite demanding on the electrical system. I don't see many ordered with two.

Reactions: Nick1234
#4 ·
The funny thing is that almost all mid trim and up F250’s are ordered with them. I think the reason is that most F250’s are seen as a more work oriented truck. I can tell you from personal experience they are more setup for work type use but they are not as comfortable to drive on a day to day basis. This is my first GMC and love it but it does have short comings if your looking for a dedicated work truck. I decided on comfort this go around and glad I did.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

#5 ·
Dual alternators have the ability to handle a much higher electrical load like snow plows, winches, etc. If you were to run a larger size wire to your trailer, it would help charge your batteries faster or if you find your batteries need a fast charge when dry camping, hook up your truck to the trailer batteries with a heavy duty set of jumper cables and you will be able to charge your trailer batteries quickly.

#6 ·
Alternators are not as efficient at lower engine speeds. Having two allows you two recover power faster when running high-amp draw accessories like a plow, spreaders, winches, compressors, etc., basically things that are used at low engine speeds or even at idle. Since it is highly unlikely you are charging your RV batteries with your truck, having two alternators has no advantage for you.

#7 ·