Looking at a local LB7 - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > GM Diesel Engines > Duramax First Generation: 2001-2004 (LB7)
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

Duramax First Generation: 2001-2004 (LB7) Discuss the first generation (2001-2004 LB7) of the 6.6L Duramax diesel engine & associated components. Engine related discussion ONLY.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2008, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
EdsGTI

iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Looking at a local LB7

Hey guys, i'm new on here but not in the car scene. I own a shop thats based around vw/audi/import turbo cars and its 99% drag racing based. Im an engine builder, fabricator and tuner. I have a 2002 suburban now 5.3L 4x4 and its a pig. I have been having the hardest time finding a duramax that I liked but have been reading back and forth between the different model years and about injectors.

What do you think I should do. I use this truck to commute ~50 miles per day round trip. It will be towing approx 2 days per week (for now about 7k lb load total) but I plan on moving up to a larger trailer and a total load under ~12k.

Is this a mistake, will I regret buying this truck since I myself am not a diesel mechanic and I will be getting raped on injector failures from what I am reading on here?

Here is the truck, I put in for a VIN check request a few minutes ago after finding a truck I decided to register here instead of just reading.

My suburban is flawless as far as mechanical issues I just dont want to have to buy a truck and have it turn out to be less reliable and more costly than my race car...

http://downtownautonet.com/profile.a...=&FilterMake=0