Diesel Place banner

99 GMC suburban k2500 motor rebuild with a 96 base

6.5 BUILD 
14K views 124 replies 5 participants last post by  OkDually 
#1 ·
I'm new to diesel and I'm making the jump in with both feet. I got a 99 diesel suburban which had a spun bearing (currently unknown if it is a rod or main) but I also bought a second 6.5 motor 1996 so I wouldn't need to concern with obd 1 or 2 swap also.
The 96 motor was said to be running before it was pulled, albeit with some blow-by. The seller recommended a hone and rings, but assured me the block& crank are good candidates for a rebuild.
Assuming it is rebuildable, should I hit any issues from the accessories from the 99 motor going on the 96 motor then into the 99 body? (Short of having to work under a carport in winter)

So, I'm waiting on the weather to break then I'm gonna start dismantling the motor to get the block to a machine shop (got one local with good reputation and moderately low prices) but having no experience with diesel I wanted the forum's help picking what parts to buy, change out or refresh.

My goal for the burb is a reliable daily driver that can run on diesel, biodiesel, and veggie oil. Occasionally tow a 30 ft camper (up to 8k lbs). I think stock plus as far as power, I dunno what a powerful vehicle drives like as I'm currently in an s10, and previously several minivans and hatchbacks, so I'm certain I'm upgrading enough for my entry.

What are things I should get& upgrade? And what brands are worth the loot in gaskets and bearings? I know arp headstuds and a fluidamper HB and I've heard of lift pumps and injectors, but I'm feeling a lil overwhelmed at the variety of things out there, and haven't found a comprehensive list of considerations for a rebuild, just some focus points that oem tends to fail at.

The 96 motor has no accessories with it except the turbo, and the 99 motor is complete and currently in vehicle.

Here's a quick pic of the burb and donor motor