6.5 BUILD 99 GMC suburban k2500 motor rebuild with a 96 base - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > GM Diesel Engines > Builds
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

Builds Doing a build? Share your story (& Photos!) here as it proceeds.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree39Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2017, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ac808
Clutch

iTrader Score: 0 reviews

99 GMC suburban k2500 motor rebuild with a 96 base

I'm new to diesel and I'm making the jump in with both feet. I got a 99 diesel suburban which had a spun bearing (currently unknown if it is a rod or main) but I also bought a second 6.5 motor 1996 so I wouldn't need to concern with obd 1 or 2 swap also.
The 96 motor was said to be running before it was pulled, albeit with some blow-by. The seller recommended a hone and rings, but assured me the block& crank are good candidates for a rebuild.
Assuming it is rebuildable, should I hit any issues from the accessories from the 99 motor going on the 96 motor then into the 99 body? (Short of having to work under a carport in winter)

So, I'm waiting on the weather to break then I'm gonna start dismantling the motor to get the block to a machine shop (got one local with good reputation and moderately low prices) but having no experience with diesel I wanted the forum's help picking what parts to buy, change out or refresh.

My goal for the burb is a reliable daily driver that can run on diesel, biodiesel, and veggie oil. Occasionally tow a 30 ft camper (up to 8k lbs). I think stock plus as far as power, I dunno what a powerful vehicle drives like as I'm currently in an s10, and previously several minivans and hatchbacks, so I'm certain I'm upgrading enough for my entry.