99 chevy 3500 6.5L won't do 70mph - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > GM Diesel Engines > 6.5L Diesel Engine
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

6.5L Diesel Engine Discuss the 6.5 GM diesel engine & associated components. Automatic transmission questions & problems belong in the 4L80/85 - 4L60E - 6L90 Transmission Forum

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree50Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2016, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Trock44057
Heat Sink

iTrader Score: 0 reviews

99 chevy 3500 6.5L won't do 70mph

Hello I'm new to this and the hole diesel world I just bought this truck the only mod it had Don was the pmd was relocated and it seemed to run fine on the test drive so I bought it and when I got on the freeway I found out it wouldn't hit 70mph and it seemed like when I would hit the gas pedal it would fall on its face. sense then I have installed a 4"exhaust and I put the number 9 resistor in but it still doesn't seem to run right any help would be great full and as I said before I know nothen about diesel engines but I am very mechanically inclined

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2016, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
nsdtk
Diesel Nut

Old School Oil Burners (Old SOBs) Member

Any codes? Check your lift pump, and air-fuel filters. Also whats your RPM at 70?

1994 Chevy C3500 6.5L NV4500 ,Outrider by Unique Conversion.Dually club # 1077, DE exhaust, Pressure Referenced Wastegate, LED upgrade in progress, In cab Dorman PMD, optical sensor filter removed ( shocked when i saw it was in there). LP Relay mod. Ate a valve, 117,900 Miles. RIP Engine #1,now 2016 GEP Optimizer powered and QuadStar tuned.